Roast Pumpkin Pancakes

pumpkin_pancakes
Photograph by Sebastian John

I got up this morning not feeling very gung-ho and at the same time pretty hungry. I opened the fridge to make some eggs for breakfast and then I saw some of the leftover pumpkin I had roasted to make the pumpkin bean dish. So I thought why not some pancakes. I have never really made pancakes before, except help my wife make some.

So I mixed the pumpkin with one banana, one egg, little rice flour, nutmeg and ginger for the pancake batter. I served the pancakes with Blenheim apricot jam made by my aunt.

Ingredients (for 8 pancakes)

1. 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
2. 1/2 banana (mashed)
3. 1 egg
4. 1 teaspoon rice flour
5. 1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg (modify to taste)
6. 1/8 teaspoon grated ginger (modify to taste)
7. Salt to taste
8. Oil

pumpkin_pancakes_batter

Mix the pumpkin puree, banana, rice flour, egg, nutmeg, ginger, salt and set aside for 5 minutes.

Heat oil in skillet/frying pan and pour batter to make pancakes of burger patty size (I could not think of a better size comparison). Cook till both sides have a nice golden color.

Serve with the apricot jam.

3 thoughts on “Roast Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Alas, I did not get to eat these. That’s what I get for going to work. They look beautiful with the jam though, sweetie.

Leave a Reply

