Mango Farina Bread

Photographs by Sebastian John

We have been going through our pantry to empty it out, and have been finding packets of dried beans, lentils, and cans of this and that. Among them was a can of mango pulp made from Kesar mangoes we had bought this summer at one of the Indian grocery stores on Oak Tree Road, Iselin, New Jersey. After we got introduced to these stores during our story last year on the Indian community in Edison/Iseln, we are still amazed at the sheer variety of Indian produce these stories sell.

My wife decided to use the mango pulp to make a bread. In our marriage, my wife makes up for my lack of baking knowledge. She learned from her mother, who is an awesome baker. She (my wife’s mother) once ran her own cake business when my wife was a child. My wife’s job was to hold the cakes when they delivered them in the car.

She decided to bake a bread with sooji (farina) instead of all-purpose flour. She also used rice flour to just bind it a bit better. The results were delicious. The sooji makes the bread much heartier, as well as giving a pleasant texture of being both soft and crunch. And, its got way more fiber than boring white flour.

This is my wife’s bread recipe in her words –

Ingredients

To make two full loaves. This bread can also be made eggless (omit two tbsp of rice flour and add one more tbsp of mango pulp).

1. 2 cups and 2 tablespoon of sooji
2. 2 teaspoon baking powder
3. 1 cup sugar
4. 2 teaspoon cardamom powder
5. 2 teaspoon nutmeg powder
6. pinch of salt
7. 3 tablespoon rice flour

Mix dry ingredients together until well-blended. Then add:
1. 2 cups and 2 tablespoon mango pulp
2. 1 egg
3. 1 tablespoon lemon juice
4. 1/2 cup oil

Let sit for ten-fifteen minutes (this lets the raw sooji soak up the liquids)

Preheat over to 375.

Grease two bread pans with Crisco. Yes, I know it has hydrogenated fats and its terrible for you!! You are just using a very small amount to grease the pan. Nothing ever sticks to Crisco – I love the stuff for this purpose.

Pour batter into pans and sprinkle slivered almonds on top.

Bake for about 35 minutes. Check center with a clean knife for doneness.

6 thoughts on “Mango Farina Bread

  1. I love the texture of farina in baked goods! What a great idea, and your photos look amazing!

  2. I have everything I need to make this! It looks deliciously moist..its been bookmarked to try. Nice blog, by the way. Will be back to read more.

  3. Thanks for the wonderful loaf you sent with Sharada! We had it for breakfast for a couple of days- it toasts nicely. Is Sebastian going to blog anything while in Delhi? Love ya
    Mom

  4. Hello John ,
    I wanted to make mango flavor bread and your recipe sounded too good. So i tried your recipe last week and it came out very well. Can I post it my blog with your link? thanks. Will wait for your reply

    1. Hi Deepa,
      I am not sure if I replied to your message. Had fallen off the blogwagon for sometime. Please free to post the recipe with the link on your blog. I am glad that you liked it.
      Sebastian

Leave a Reply

