Portland’s Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts
Voodoo Doughnuts. (Photographs by Sebastian John)

It has been snowing since yesterday morning, and I think the snow would be a feet or so deep. Well…it does not matter if it is feet or two deep..the fact it is snowing itself is enough for me. For a guy from the tropics, it takes few years to acclimatize to this kind of weather. So I am sitting inside my nice cozy place looking at the snow, and going through old photographs I had taken.

Among the old files I am across these bunch of doughnut pictures I had taken when I was visiting my in-laws in Portland, OR for 2008 Christmas. The day after Christmas my wife decided to go to Voodoo Doughnuts and buy the family some doughnuts. This sounds very un-American, but I am no fan of doughnuts. I might take a bite every once in a while, but the sweet fried dough is too much for me.

But the Voodoo doughnuts were definitely good to look at, and I thought some were very photogenic. So I took some photos. And yes….I did nibble on some of the doughnuts.

Here is what my wife wrote about her experience at Voodoo Doughnuts for this post –

“I was first taken to voodoo donuts by my friend Peter in August, 2008. I had been to Portland many times but had never made it the shop, he insisted we go.

The shop is small, and one of the first things one notices is a large velvet painting of Isaac Hayes, who is called a patron saint of voodoo donuts. I happened to arrive on the day he died, and happened to be the first person in line when the “memorial donut” for him came out of the oven. It was a raised donut with chocolate, caramel and crushed pretzel sticks on top. I asked how this donut reflected on Isaac Hayes’ life and they replied that he was both “salty and sweet” and his first name sounded a little Jewish, hence the pretzels.

The donut itself was as cloud like and the crunch and salt with a mix of chocolate was memorable. Isaac, you will be missed.

We waited in the inevtiable line of hipsters that runs out the door of the tiny storefront. Everyone was talking about the dick-shaped donut filled with cream, but I was seriously interested in the cake donut with vanilla icing and fruit loops. There was also a maple bar with bacon on top which sounded delicious, but my stomach decided it couldn’t handle it.

And the Voodoo doughnuts –

Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts

Voodoo Doughnuts

One thought on “Portland’s Voodoo Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

